ACM SIGGRAPH Executive Committee August 2003 Conference Call

August 19, 2003


Tony Baylis
Judy Brown
Colleen Case
Alain Chesnais
Gudrun Enger
Thierry Frey
Barb Helfer
Masa Inakage
Erica Johnson
Jacki Morie
Scott Owen
Stephen Spencer


Dino Schweitzer

Awards Chair

Barb Helfer presented a proposal to appoint Eugene Fiume to replace Ed Catmull as Chair of the Awards Committee. Ed is at the end of his 5-year term. Eugene is Chair of the Computer Science Department and Co-Chair of the Dynamic Graphics Project at The University of Toronto. He is currently on the Awards Committee.

Motion (Helfer, Morie) To approve the appointment of Eugene Fiume to a 5-year term as Awards Committee Chair.

Approved (9,0,0)

Note: Gudrun Enger was not yet on the call when this vote was taken.


Barb Helfer reported on a project to gather details of all the small conferences, workshops, and other symposia that ACM SIGGRAPH sponsors, co-sponsors, or is in cooperation with throughout the year. There are around forty of these now. This spreadsheet will include such information as attendance, type of sponsorship, profit or loss, and whether or not the proceedings are in the ACM Digital Library. She agreed to do a similar list of all the organizations with whom ACM SIGGRAPH has a formal relationship.


Scott Owen gave an update on the Request for Proposal (RFP) process for the eight contracts that are expiring. These are:

Audio Visual
Computer Rental Services
Conference Administration
Conference Management
Exhibit Sales and Management
Marketing, Media, PR and Copy Coordination
General Services Contractor


The RFP committees are made up of ACM SIGGRAPH volunteers, conference contractors, and ACM Headquarters staff. The committees are reviewing the RFPs now, and they will be posted by September 15. Company responses to the RFPs are due by October 15, and there may be some interviews needed. Each RFP committee will then make a recommendation to the Executive Committee for approval. These recommendations will be posted as soon as each is available so that Executive Committee members have as much time as possible to read them over and have adequate discussion before the conference call or calls during which they will be approved.

Major contracts can be up to five years, but since we do not want them to all come due for renewal at the same time again, we will stagger these contracts over three to five years.

ACM Meetings

Alain Chesnais, Barb Helfer and Tony Baylis will be going to an ACM meeting in September for SIG officer training. This will be followed by a SIG Governing Board Executive Committee meeting, during which there will be a presentation of the SIGGRAPH 2004 budget by the SIGGRAPH 2004 Chair, Dena Slothower.